top of page

Meet the Board

The board of directors represents a diverse group of individuals from across the state. They offer insight and expertise from their respective fields in healthcare specializing in the treatment of patients with obesity.


A little history about the Louisiana Obesity Society

The Louisiana Obesity Society grew from the interests of a group of scientists and clinicians who had long been engaged in obesity research, education, and treatment.  Many of these were former Presidents of The Obesity Society. George Bray, MD, Steven Heymsfield, MD, Claude Bouchard, PhD, Nikhil Dhurandhar, PhD, Steven Smith, MD, Pat O'Neil, PhD, Jennifer Lovejoy, PhD, David York, PhD, Eric Ravussin PhD, and Donna Ryan, MD are all current and former Louisianians who have served as President of The Obesity Society. In fact, of the 34 Presidents, 10 have a Louisiana connection! 


With a growing number of Louisiana clinicians obtaining board certification from the American Board of Obesity Medicine (ABOM) and with the support of a strong Louisiana chapter of the American Society of Metabolic and Bariatric Surgery, additional interested and accomplished leaders came together to create the Louisiana Obesity Society. That founding Board of Directors includes the following individuals listed below."​

bottom of page